Malcolm Oastler is the 2019 CAMS Australian Hillclimb Champion after claiming the fasest time out of the 140 cars entered the 75th running of the national championship.

Taking place at iconic Mount Panorama circuit in Bathurst, it was the record-breaking time of Oastler’s 34.88 seconds which was the major talking point as the veteran took out his fifth national title – five short of hill climb legend Peter Gumley.

Oastler wasn’t the only one to break the previous record of 36.2 seconds though, with outright runner-up Dean Amos also making history and breaking the 35-second barrier with a time of 34.90 seconds – two hundredths short of Oastler.

Check out Motorsport Australia’s Speed Read – November 2019

more insights